Administrative Setup

Azamgarh division consists of three districts namely- Azamgarh, Ballia and Mau, and is headed by the Divisional Commissioner Azamgarh. The Commissioner is the head of local government institutions in the division, in charge of infrastructural development in his division, and is also responsible for maintaining law and order in the division.

Azamgarh district administration is headed by the District Magistrate of Azamgarh. The District Magistrate is assisted by Chief Development Officer and Additional District Magistrate.

The district is divided into 08 Tehsils and 17 Development Blocks . Each Tehsil is headed by a Sub Divisional Magistrate.

Azamgarh district police is headed by a Superintendent of Police.